The Verve’s fans can expect two special releases on 9 September 2016. The group’s first two albums, 1993’s “A storm in heaven” and “A northern soul” from 1995 will both be reissued by Virgin/EMI as multi-disc super deluxe edition box sets.

the verveBoth albums are remastered by Chris Potter (co-producer of the band’s “Urban hymns”) and both of the new box sets feature previously unreleased studio recordings, BBC sessions and various B-sides / extra tracks from the singles of the era.
Along with “South pacific“, “Shoeshine girl” is one of two unreleased tracks to feature on it. The song was recorded during the sessions for the 1993 album. It wasn’t released on “A storm in heaven” or its accompanying singles and has remained unheard for the past 23 years.