The Flower Pot Men were an English pop group inspired by the hippie movement of the mid-1960s.
Formed in 1967, the band had several line up changes. Let us remember Tony Burrows, Pete Nelson, Robin Shaw and Neil Landon on vocals with Nick Simper on bass, Ged Peck on guitar, Jon Lord on organ and Carlo Little on drums.
First single was “Let’s go to San Francisco”, written and recorded by songwriters John Carter and Ken Lewis. It reached number 4 in the UK single chart.
After this success, there were four more singles, including one under the moniker Friends. They were less lucky and the band dissolved in 1970.
Soon, every member focused on other projects.
Simper and Lord joined classic rock band Deep Purple.
Tony Burrows took part in groups like The Pipkins, Edison Lighthouse and Brotherhood of Man.
Neil Landon joined the psychedelic and progressive group Fat Mattress.
Robin Shaw and Peter Nelson formed White Plains.
Recently, Simper was in the spotlight because he was snub by the induction of Deep Purple in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.
Burrows and Shaw still continue to sing and perform in concert with a reformed version of White Plains.
Lord, Nelson, Little and Peck passed away between 2005 and 2015.